[Reliable_computing] call for nominations for the 2018 R. Moore prize

Kreinovich, Vladik vladik at utep.edu
Thu Jan 4 19:34:33 CST 2018

Dear Friends,

We seek nominations for the 2018 R. E. Moore Prize for Applications
of Interval Analysis.

R. E. MOORE PRIZE: HISTORY. In 2002, the Editorial Board of Reliable
Computing, an International Journal devoted to reliable mathematical
computations based on finite representations and guaranteed
accuracy, decided to set up a biannual Prize for Applications of
Interval Analysis, a prize that would be awarded at a major interval

The first R. E. Moore Prize for Applications of Interval Analysis
was awarded in 2002 to Dr. Warwick Tucker, a mathematician from
Cornell University, who proved, using interval techniques, that the
renowned Lorenz equations do in fact possess a strange attractor.
This problem, Smale's 14th conjecture, is of particular note in
large part because the Lorenz model is widely recognized as
signaling the beginning of chaos theory. This prize was awarded at
the SIAM Validated Computing 2002 in Toronto.

The second prize was awarded in 2004 to Professor T. Hales for his
solution of the Kepler conjecture about the densest arrangement of
spheres in space. Dr. Hales solved this long-standing problem by
using interval arithmetic.

The third prize was awarded in 2008 to Dr. Kyoko Makino and
Dr. Martin Berz for their paper "Suppression of the Wrapping Effect
by Taylor Model-based Verified Integrators: Long-term Stabilization
by Preconditioning".

The fourth prize was awarded to in 2012 to Dr. Jaulin for his paper
"A nonlinear set-membership approach for the localization and map
building of an underwater robot using interval constraint

The fifth prize was awarded in 2014 to Dr. Kobayashi for his paper
"Computer-Assisted Uniqueness Proof for Stokes' Wave of Extreme

The sixth prize was awarded in 2016 to Drs. Banhelyi, Csendes,
Krisztin, and Neumaier for their paper "Global attractivity of
the zero solution for Wright's equation"

REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS. The awarding ceremony will be held at the
18th International Symposium on Scientific Computing, Computer
Arithmetic, and Verified Numerical Computations SCAN'2018
(Tokyo, Japan, September 10-14, 2018).

Please submit your nominations.

PRIZE COMMITTEE. Similarly to the previous R. E. Moore prizes, the prize
committee for the 2018 prize consists of the Editorial Board of the
Reliable Computing journal.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO BE NOMINATED. Dissertations, papers, and books
that appeared in 2016 and later may be nominated.

WHO CAN NOMINATE: everyone except for the members of the prize

HOW TO SUBMIT. To nominate a paper or dissertation (including your
own), send either an electronic copy (Postscript, PDF, or portable
LaTeX), or a URL (web address) from where such an electronic copy
can be downloaded, to vladik at utep.edu

If such an electronic copy is not available, a complete citation to
a commonly available public journal may be emailed to
vladik at utep.edu. If that is a problem, a printed copy may be mailed

  Vladik Kreinovich
  Attention: R. E. Moore Prize
  Department of Computer Science
  University of Texas at El Paso
  500 W. University
  El Paso, TX 79968, USA

WHEN TO SUBMIT. Make sure the materials are nominated before
February 28, 2018. (If you need more time to collect the materials,
let me know ASAP).

PRIVACY. Please rest assured that the names of the nominees will be
kept absolutely secret and they will only be accessible to the
members of the prize committee.

Thanks a lot.


P.S. CONFLICT OF INTEREST. To avoid potential conflict of interest,
members of the prize committee will not participate in evaluating
their own work or work of their students.

The R. E. Moore Prize for Applications of Interval Analysis:
Description and Rationale
(from http://interval.louisiana.edu/Moore_prize.html)

By the late 1950's, with exponentially increasing use of digital
electronic computers for mathematical computations, interval
arithmetic was a concept whose time had come. With his 1962
dissertation "Interval Arithmetic and Automatic Error Analysis in
Digital Computing," encouraged by George Forsythe, Prof. Ramon
Moore was one of the first to develop the underlying principles of
interval arithmetic in their modern form. Prof. Moore subsequently
dedicated much of his life to furthering the subject. This includes
guidance of seven Ph.D. students, interaction with other prominent
figures in the area such as Eldon Hansen, Louis Rall, and Bill
Walster, and publication of the seminal work "Interval Analysis"
(Prentice Hall, 1966) and its updates "Methods and Applications of
Interval Analysis" (SIAM, 1979) and "Introduction to Interval
Analysis" (SIAM, 2009). In addition, Prof. Moore published a
related book "Computational Functional Analysis" (Horwood, 1985),
and organized the conference with proceedings Reliability in
Computing (Academic Press, 1988). This latter conference was a
major catalyst for renewed interest in the subject. It is safe to
say that these accomplishments of Professor Moore have made
interval analysis what it is today. To continue and further this
tradition, in 2002, we decided to dedicate to Prof. Moore a
biennial prize for the best dissertation or paper in applications
of interval analysis.

Note:  By "applications" we intend primarily applications in
engineering and the sciences that will bring further recognition to
the power of interval computations. However, we do not wish to rule
out significant and widely recognized "pure" applications. The
editorial board of the journal "Reliable Computing"  will judge
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.louisiana.edu/pipermail/reliable_computing/attachments/20180105/18edc4df/attachment.html>

More information about the reliable_computing mailing list